Water Mill Estate, 8,700 SF Home on 2 Acres, Pool and Tennis
New project located in Water Mill
An 8,700 SF residence situated on 2 acres with a sunken tennis court, 1,200 SF recreation pavilion, and a 20'x 50" heated gunite pool with an 8x8 spa.
The second floor consists of five ensuite bedrooms, laundry room, plus a master suite with a sitting room, large walk-in-closet, powder room, fireplace, and a private terrace with stunning views of Mecox Bay and the ocean.
The main level offers a grand two-story paneled foyer, great room, formal dining room, living room and den both with a fireplace, a tremendous gourmet kitchen with Wolf, Sub-Zero and Miele appliances, powder room, wine closet, guest bedroom, and access to a 3-car garage.
The lower level adds 3,700 SF of finished space with a recreation area, gym with a sauna and steam shower, movie theater, and a two lane bowling alley!!
Construction nearing completion - Call today for showing
- Marvin Windows & Doors
- Geothermal heating and cooling, fuel is LP
- Spray foam insulation
- 10kw solar system
- 8” Rift and Quartered White Oak floors
- Coffered ceilings and custom wood mouldings
- Glass partitions separating bowling alley and rec areas
- White Oak wine closet
History of Water Mill
In 1644, England gave Edward Howell 40 acres of land near the new settlement of Southampton to build a mill for settlers to grind their grain into meal. It became a landmark, and people began referring to other settlements that popped up as "east or west of the watermill." By the 1800s, the area was known as Water Mills and was later changed to Water Mill. Howell's Water Mill was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. Today, the hamlet boasts its status as the only settlement on the South Fork of Long Island with both a functioning watermill and windmill.
Seapoose is an anglicized spelling of the Shinnecock Indian word “little river.” When a cut is made in the barrier beach separating a bay from the ocean, the cut quickly becomes a little river. Bay water runs out at low tide and the ocean runs in at high tide. This cut can occur naturally during storms or can be created by man.
The Shinnecocks are believed to have dug the seapoose at Mecox Bay, Water Mill to keep the salinity of the bay appropriate for shellfish, which they harvested there. The Shinnecock language was not recorded so we have no record of how they pronounced Seapoose but Southampton Town clerks recorded the word as sea puse, sepoose, sepose, seapoos and other variations.
The first mention of the cut in Southampton Town records was made in 1644 when the agreements were worked out with the Town for the building of a water mill at a pond and creek north of Mecox Bay. The records note that “every one in the say’d towne from 16 yeares old to 60 (except Magistrate, Minister, Miller and heardsmen) in their own persons shall bee ready so often in the yeare to cutt open sufficiently a gut at meacoxe.…” For the water mill to operate properly, water downstream of the mill had to be kept low.(1)
(Water Mill Museum)